



Minutes

## Minutes of the Parish Assembly Held at Grouville Parish Church on Monday, 11 December 2023 at 19:00

	Commétable Mardelabers Chairman
PRESENT	Connétable Mark Labey – Chairman
	Patricia da Silva - Assistant Parish Secretary and Minutes
Open Meeting	The Connétable opened the meeting by welcoming everyone in attendance and pointed out the fire exits and restrooms at the Church. The Connétable informed that the meeting will be recorded for the purpose of accurate minute taking. The Connétable invited the Assistant Parish Secretary to read out the Convening Notice.
1. Apologies	Apologies were received from the following:
	Stephen Higginson, John Lamy, Jack Hanby and Drew Livingston.
2. Approval of the Minutes of 29 November 2023	The minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday, 29 November 2023 were proposed by Chris Osgood and seconded by Eric Gavey. The Assembly voted and the minutes were approved by the majority.
3. To decide whether the Parish should acquire, as a gift from its owner, Field G506	The Connétable asked for a proposer to allow the Parish to acquire Field G506, which has been gifted to the Parish. Robin Hamilton-Howes proposed and Stanley Payn seconded. The Assembly voted and the proposal was approved by the majority.
4. To elect a member of the Assessment Committee for a term of three years	<ul> <li>The Connétable thanked Philip Barber, whose term of office as Rates Assessor is due to expire, for his many years of service to the Parish.</li> <li>The Connétable then asked for nominations for the role of Rates Assessor. Two nominations were received, those being: <ul> <li>Andrew Koester, who was proposed by Chris Osgood and seconded by Robert Tompkins.</li> <li>Peter Hargreaves, who was proposed by Mark Houze and seconded by Mark Dawson.</li> </ul> </li> <li>No further nominations were received.</li> <li>The Assembly voted by a show of hands with Andrew Koester receiving 83 votes and Peter Hargreaves receiving 22 votes.</li> </ul>

	The Connétable declared Andrew Koester as the new elected Rates Assessor and warned him to appear at the Royal Court at 10:00 Friday, 15 December 2023.
5. To elect three Principals residing in the Parish to act as members of the Roads Committee for a term of three years	The Connétable asked for nominations for members of the Roads Committee. Five nominations were received, those being:
	- Eric Gavey, who was proposed by Ian Mitchell and seconded by Kevin Herve.
	- David Cummins, who was proposed by Peter Le Maistre and seconded by Anthony Desborough.
	<ul> <li>Leslie Norman, who was proposed by Mark Houze and seconded by Elaine Paisnel.</li> </ul>
	- Jennifer Bridge, who was proposed by Leslie Norman and seconded by Caroline Anderson.
	The Connétable informed the Assembly that the vote will be taken by secret ballot.
	The following results were announced by the Connétable:
	- Stanley Payn received 88 votes
	- Eric Gavey received 85 votes
	- David Cummins received 82 votes
	- Leslie Norman received 30 votes
	- Jennifer Bridge received 22 votes
	The Connétable declared Stanley Payn, Eric Gavey and David Cummins as the elected members of the Roads Committee. The Connétable warned them to appear at the Royal Court at 10:00 Friday, 15 December 2023.
6. To elect two Roads Inspectors for each of the Vingtaines of Des Marais, De Longueville, De La Rocque, and De la Rue for a term of three years.	The Connétable thanked all Roads Inspectors for all their support, especially during recent storms.
	The Connétable asked for nominations for the role of Roads Inspector for Vingtaine des Marais. Two nominations were received, those being:
	<ul> <li>William Payn, who was proposed by Matt Le Maistre and seconded by Allan McCaffrey.</li> </ul>
	- Jack Hanby, who was proposed by Jerry Collins and seconded by Michael Labey.
	No further nominations were received and therefore, the Connétable declared William Payn and Jack Hanby duly elected as Roads Inspectors for Vingtaine des Marais.
	The Connétable asked for nominations for the role of Roads Inspector for Vingtaine de Longueville. Two nominations were received, those being:

	<ul> <li>Neil Wade, who was proposed by Michael Labey and seconded by Adrian le Gal.</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Michael Labey, who was proposed by Neil Wade and seconded by Adrian le Gal.</li> </ul>
	No further nominations were received and therefore, the Connétable declared Neil Wade and Michael Labey duly elected as Roads Inspectors for Vingtaine de Longueville. The Connétable took the opportunity to thank Helier Falle for his service to the Parish.
	The Connétable asked for nominations for the role of Roads Inspector for Vingtaine de la Rocque. Two nominations were received, those being:
	<ul> <li>Claude Bertram, who was proposed by Stanley Payn and seconded by John O'Brien.</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Barrie Hamel, who was proposed by Stanley Payn and seconded by John O'Brien.</li> </ul>
	No further nominations were received and therefore, the Connétable declared Claude Bertram and Barrie Hamel duly elected as Roads Inspectors for Vingtaine de la Rocque.
	The Connétable asked for nominations for the role of Roads Inspector for Vingtaine de la Rue. Two nominations were received, those being:
	<ul> <li>Andrew Labey, who was proposed by Peter Le Maistre and seconded by Harry Meacham.</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Philip Le Maistre, who was proposed by Peter Le Maistre and seconded by Harry Meacham.</li> </ul>
	No further nominations were received and therefore, the Connétable declared Andrew Labey and Philip Le Maistre duly elected as Roads Inspectors for Vingtaine de la Rue.
	The Connétable warned all the elected Roads Inspectors to appear at the Royal Court at 10:00 Friday, 15 December 2023.
7. Meeting Closed	The Connétable closed the meeting at 20:16.